Breathing Apparatus Challenge 2022 – the results are in!

West Mids Firefighters battle it out for place in national 'BA' showdown



Reading time approx: < 1 minute
Published on 29 July 2022

Foleshill firefighters take top honours!

The results are in! 
Congratulations to all of our teams who’ve been taking part these last couple of weeks in our 2022 Breathing Apparatus (BA) Challenge. 
Fourteen teams entered, including colleagues from London, Shropshire and Hereford & Worcester fire and rescue services.  
Members of Foleshill fire station’s Red Watch, who came second last year, went one better this time around to secure first place and ‘The Castleton Trophy’. It’s named after our retired colleague, Phil Castleton, who sadly passed away this year. 
The winning teams will represent us at the National BA Challenge, at The Fire Service College in October.  
Thank you to our event supporters, including Dräger, Hero Wipes, Torq Energy, MSA Bristol, FireAngel and The Fire Fighters Charity.

Five firefighters from Foleshill Red watch stand outside our fire house in which they competed in and won our annual breathing apparatus challenge

Overall Winners  

1st – Foleshill Red Watch  
2nd – Foleshill White  
3rd – Ward End White 
4th – Northfield Blue
5th – Binley White   

Best Breathing Apparatus   

1st – Dannielle Maisey and Simon Hall – Foleshill Red
2nd – Lewis Masterson and Alex Gudmunsen – Foleshill White 
3rd – Gaz Featherstone and Joe Atkins – Binley White 
4th – Luke O’Shea and Stephen Barrington – Ward End White 
5th – Andrew Connolly and Andrew Butler – Northfield Blue  

Best Entry Control Officer (ECO)   

1st – David Bailey – Ward End White  
2nd – John Asher – Foleshill Red 
3rd – Lee Renenhan – Northfield Blue 
4th – Steve Bednell – Binley White  
5th – Cat Thacker – Foleshill White   

Best Incident Command   

Joint 1st – Rob Taylor – Foleshill Red  and Lee Richardson – Smethwick Green
2nd – Sam Drabble – Foleshill White 
3rd – Paul Crockett – Northfield Blue 
4th – Luke Roberts – Ward End White   

Best Fire Ground   

1st – Guy Ringer – Binley White  
2nd – Anthony Busst – Northfield Blue  
3rd – Richard Hailey – Ward End White  
4th – Richard McMenemy – Foleshill Red  
5th – George Johnson – Foleshill White